help_outline Skip to main content

News / Articles

2021 Banquet

Larry P Wasser | Published on 11/23/2021


The annual HBC banquet took place on November 20th at the Colonial Golf and Tennis Club.  With 83 members attending, everyone expressed how excited they were that the club was able to get everyone together to celebrate the past two years as we had cancelled last year’s banquet due to COVID-19.  For those unable to attend, a video with highlights from the evening will be posted on HBC’s YouTube channel.  Thanks to Kayla Bower for creating this video!

HBC Youtube Videos


After the social time and the buffet, the members watched a video interview of Bonnie Iorfidio, who was able to ride 473 consecutive days during the Pandemic.  She discussed how she sets various goals for her riding and how much she enjoys this sport.


Larry Wasser received the Service Before Self award in recognition of all of his IT work including managing the website, Ride with GPS, and writing and publishing the Spokesman each month.  Phyllis Zitzer was awarded the Cape May brick as she best exemplified the spirit of the Fall tour this year. 

2021 Banquet Pictures


All the ride leaders who earned different types of appreciation gifts were noted.  The ride committee noted that HBC had more rides this year than in 2019 although our rides started a bit later this year.


Several dates of upcoming events were announced:  The Spring Fling is yet to be determined, but is usually the last weekend in April.  The Finger Lakes trip will be June 14-17, 2022 with early arrival on June 12th.  Next year’s Three Creek Century will be September 18, 2022.  The Fall Tour will be September 20th to 25th, 2022.  The Williamsburg trip will be October 14-16, 2022.


Ross Willard accepted the $1500 grant awarded to Recycle Bicycle from the proceeds of the Three Creek Century.  The other grant recipient, Hershey Mountain Biking Club, was not available to receive their grant of $2000.


The results of the election of the Board of Directors indicated that next year’s board will include Susan Tussey as President, Jill Bradley as VP1, Dick Norford as VP2, Howard Ross as VP3, Howard Davison as Treasurer,  Edith Eckerle as Secretary, David Raup as Membership, Mark Riordan as Technology, Lou Searles as Member at Large, and the position of Ride Leader Chairperson is open. 

2021 Year in Pictures

Many members won door prizes from our local businesses.  Chris Ditlow donated lovely wooden centerpieces for the tables.  The club would like to thank all those who worked so hard for this year’s banquet:  Julie/Buck Nye, Kelly Dygert, Mark Riordan, Larry Wasser, and Scott Silverstine.